The Reeves Family and the Ewing Family Genealogies




Jefferson County, Kentucky


Jefferson County, Kentucky is located in the western end of the Bluegrass region along the Ohio River.  It was one of the three original Virginia counties that made up Kentucky, formed in 1780 and named for Thomas Jefferson, who was governor of Virginia at that time. 


The county's population in 1780 was concentrated almost exclusively around the Falls of the Ohio and nearby streams that emptied into the Ohio River, notably the Middle and South forks of, Beargrass Creek and Goose Creek east of Louisville.  This area, liberally endowed with springs and at a higher elevation than the site of Louisville, was especially desirable.


Map of Louisville, Kentucky in 1873.


The early settlers in the county represented diverse groups, not only Virginians but also many from North Carolina and the northeastern states, especially Pennsylvania. Mostly of Scotch-Irish and English ancestry, the newcomers also included many of German descent, and a close-knit group of Dutch descent founded the New Holland Station.


Bounded by Bullitt, Spencer, Shelby, and Oldham counties, it has an area of 386 square miles.  The county seat and largest city is Louisville.  It is the home of Churchill Downs and the Kentucky Derby.



Contact with any suggestions corrections, etc.

Copyright Brian Reeves, 2005 2007.